mtbr member
    Jul 2006

QR15 fork or carbon rim to improve stiffness?

I have a Trek Superfly AL 100 Elite, with a Sun Ringle Black Flag Pro wheel set. I notice a bit of flex when riding (I'm about 195lbs) and would like to minimize it if possible.

I'm currently running a Fox 9mm QR fork, and I was wondering if I would find more of a stiffness improvement by switching to a QR15 fork or getting some of the Chinese Carbon wheels built up. I have no experience with carbon rims so I don't really know what to expect performance wise. Anyone care to share their insight?

The wheel option will definitely be the cheaper option as I'll sell my current wheel set. Given my fork uses the G2 geometry it could be tough to sell it, so I'll be looking at a decent cash outlay if I decide to change the fork instead, so I'm leaning strongly to the wheel option. Will going from the Black Flags to a Carbon rim wheel set provide a noticeable improvement in stiffness??? I will also be able to save about 300g changing wheels which is another positive.

mtbr member
    You don't need to buy a new fork, just order some new lowers with the 15mm qr drop outs.

If the front hub is convertible to the 15mm axle, then keep them.

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    Thanks for that. So do you think this will make more of an improvement than carbon rims, or is this just another option rather than replacing the entire fork?

Always Learning
    Quote Originally Posted by manamana View Post
    Thanks for that. So do you think this will make more of an improvement than carbon rims, or is this just another option rather than replacing the entire fork?
    I've got 9mm QR REBA forks on my Dos Niner and JET 9.

Going to the carbon rims on the 9mm REBA's were a big jump in stiffness for me. How to quantify that and compare to a 15mm TA switch? Don't know. You can, however, see the test results of the difference between a 9mm QR and 15mm TA if you do a search.