mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Platform or clipless pedals?

Just got back into mountain biking after a 10 year break. I bought a Ghost hardtail 29er and mainly use it as an all around bike, light downhill at the local ski slope, xc, trail riding etc. I used to own an old Norco hardtail but given the trail conditions around my house (roots, rocks, obstacles) I always used platform pedals. On my new bike the salesman suggested I try a dual design for the various riding styles I do. I went with a Wellgo wpd m17 pedal which has one side spd and one side platform. Tried them out spd last week and found them to be very hard to clip out of in intense moments and this even though the clips were set very loose. I have been riding Shimano spd road pedals for many years now and never had a problem unclipping so I know that it's not a case of getting used to the unclipping movement that is the problem. I'm wondering if I should go back to platforms. I know Wellgos don't have the best reputation so I'm also considering the Shimano xt trail m785 which are supposed to be a better quality pedal. My concerns with those is their platform design. By looking at pictures of them it seems as if the shoe is resting on the platform in front but on the spd clip on the back. I can't imagine going down a full downhill run with this type of foot support. Has anyone converted from platforms to clipless recently? Any input that would help me make the right choice would be appreciated.

Sent from Samsung Galaxy using Tapatalk.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Did you look at the Shimano m324 combo pedal? Not as fancy looking at the M785, but they've been around for years and seem to have pretty good reviews.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Re: Platform or clipless pedals?

Yes I was looking at the m324. I'm just wondering if the aluminum cage will hold il ton downhill bashing. Have you tried those?

mtbr member
    May 2005