mtbr member

Pf30 experience?!

TRYING TO DECIDE WHETHER TO RUN A BB30 CRANK ON MY PF30 FRAME(NINER AIR 9 ALLOY) OR TO RUN SOME SORT OF AN ADAPTOR AND JUST USE XT OR XTR CRANKS.

-IVE HERD SOOOO MANY BAD THINGS ABOUT PF30 THAT I AM JUST NOT SURE ANYMORE SO ANY FEEDBACK AND EXPERIENCE/RECOMMENDATION WITH EITHER SETUP WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED IN HELPING A RELATIVE NEWBIE WITH HIS FIRST BUILD
    -tHANKS

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    I've been running a BB30 crank in a PF30 frame for several years now and have had no issues at all with it. It's been quiet, smooth spinning, and long lasting. I say the fewer adaptors the better so go with the BB30 crank if you can.

/easy on the caps tho bro

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by wolverine.NC View Post
    TRYING TO DECIDE WHETHER TO RUN A BB30 CRANK ON MY PF30 FRAME(NINER AIR 9 ALLOY) OR TO RUN SOME SORT OF AN ADAPTOR AND JUST USE XT OR XTR CRANKS.

-IVE HERD SOOOO MANY BAD THINGS ABOUT PF30 THAT I AM JUST NOT SURE ANYMORE SO ANY FEEDBACK AND EXPERIENCE/RECOMMENDATION WITH EITHER SETUP WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED IN HELPING A RELATIVE NEWBIE WITH HIS FIRST BUILD
    -tHANKS
    PF30 is a non issue with these new products from Wheels Manufacturing.

Wheels Mfg PF30 Outboard Bottom Brackets

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    I read many squeak/noise issues with PF30 so I purchased the Praxis Conversion to use my XT and XTR cranks in the BB30 frame. But I took the plunge and went full on PF30 with the Specialized S Works crank and their oem bb.

If anyone is looking for a new in box Praxis 73mm Conversion I've got one.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by ryanhugh View Post
    I've been running a BB30 crank in a PF30 frame for several years now and have had no issues at all with it. It's been quiet, smooth spinning, and long lasting. I say the fewer adaptors the better so go with the BB30 crank if you can.