mtbr member
    May 2013

Pedal design....

Hi everyone, first post so a quick intro. I recently bought my first "real" bike (specilized hardrock). I mostly just ride around town with a few trails mixed in when I go camping.. I've wore out/broken the "tabs" that are supposed to give me grip on the stock plastic pedals and want to upgrade....

By trade I am a CNC machinist with full knowledge of cad/cam software and most of the time I spend 6-7 hours passing the time while a part is running in my mill. So I figured I would try and build my own custom pedals ( one off set just for personal use) I know I could buy a set , but I like to make things myself, and pretty much all my materials and powder coating is free and I have to free time to do it while on the clock....

My plan is to do a design similar to the xpedo face off, I like the simplicity of having the main piece with the cages bolted on.

My question to you all is when it comes to the spindle. I plan on using some grade 5 titanium that we have extra of at the shop. With 9/16 threads on the end and 1/2 dia. The rest of the way into two sealed roller bearings in each end of the main housing. Will 1/2 be
    strong enough? I'm not sure what dia. A stock spindle is?

mtbr member
    No idea on spindle but I would run a double bearing on the outside or bushing. Its a heavily loaded point and all the single bearing designs always seem to fail prematurely.

Ill throw the calipers on mine tomorrow and get you a measurement...

mtbr member
    It's impressive that you want to build your own pedals, I'd would just go buy a set of Crank Bros. Eggbeaters and call it a day.

mtbr member
    May 2013
    I could buy a set, but honestly I would like to build my own. I don't do any "hard core" riding or anything so I don't feel like there's much danger if the pedal fails for some reason.........

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Nice little project.