mtbr member
    Dec 2010

Opinion on wheels...

I recently purchased a new fork and am in need of a new axle since my current setup has a 9QR and my new fork has a 20mm. Instead of dropping $70 on just a front axle, I figured I'd look into getting a new set of wheels while I'm at it. I honestly don't know much about what wheels are good, ect. as I'm relatively new to this but I have read a lot of good things regarding the ZTR Flow wheels as far as bang for buck goes (I'm not looking to spend a fortune)...

So, I came across this set of Flows for $250. Stans ZTR Flow X9 29er Wheelset - Hammerheadbikes.com From what I can tell, it seems like a pretty good deal. Am I overlooking something? Are the X9 hubs the main reason these wheels are so cheap?

I'm open to any other recommendations as well...

Thanks for any help!

mtbr member
    Stans came out with upgraded models of the Flow and Arch rims, dubbed "EX" as in Flow EX. I suspect the ones your looking at are the older model. Still a great rim. For that price, grab 'em.
    Use it, use it, use it while you still have it.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    One thing you may have overlooked- the rear hub in that set is 142x12. It's likely that your current bikes frame is 135x10 QR and that hub won't fit.

mtbr member
    Dec 2010
    Thanks for the replies.

big-daddy, I think you may be correct. I checked the specs (I have a 2012 Giant Talon 1) and it didn't specify but the rear axle is indeed a QR. I guess my search continues...

Any other recommendations? How do the prices compare buying a pre-built wheelset versus buying the rims and hubs separate?

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    Look at the Sun Ringle Black Flag Comp wheels. Do the research and see if they suit your riding and goals.

Front wheel comes with 9qr, 15 & 20mm adapters for the hubs. I just picked up a set today for $310 OTD.

Performance bicycle sale for $329, but Tuesdays from 12-2pm they do an additional 10% off.

mtbr member