mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Noisy disc brakes

I am new to 29ers and disc brakes so I apologize if this is a dumb question. Are disc brakes normally loud? I have a Jamis exile with Avid Elixir 3 hydraulic brakes and they seem to squeal louder than I would have thought. Is this normal or is there some adjustment that can be done to minimize the noise? Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    It depends on the sound you're hearing. Some sound, by some brakes, is normal. That said, if the caliper is misaligned a brake can go from very little sound to a high pitched squeal.

I like bikes.
    Agree with above. Could be squeeling due to misalignment. Could also be from pad contamination.
    I would loosen up your caliper bolts, then squeeze your brake lever and re-tighten. This will align the calier/pads evenly on your disc.
    If the squeeling continue's, I would take the pads out, give a quick shot of brake cleaner, scuff wiith some emery paper and then re-install. Don't spray the cleaer while on bike/still in caliper. Brake cleaner is not exactly paint friendly.
    Karakoram...ZS44, X-Fusion, Freq i23, Tioga's, Shadow & XT,Shim Hydro 180/160, MG-1 pedals & more.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    When you begin reading about Avid Elixirs in the Brake section you will see this is common -- and unacceptable to must. The best fix is to replace them with XT or SLX brakes 2012-3.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Cool. Kind of bummed it's common, but glad mine aren't just bad. They stop the bike, just a little embarrassing at times. Thanks to everyone for the help.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Had the same problem...

My Rip9 has Elixir 5s on it. Was running into the same problem. Especially noisy when hot or dusty. Downright loud when both. Cleaned many times with only temporary improvement.