mtbr member
    Jul 2012

Newbie needing help upgrading Gary Fish marlin 29er

Let me start off by saying I'm a newbie when it comes to mountain bikes. So please only post if you can help, not to tell me I'm dumb. I have a 2011 Trek Gary Fisher 29er I've been riding since 2012. I'm now needing to upgrade, specifically my crankset. I'm interested in the Shimano Deore XT but can only find it in 3x10. My current setup as I understand is 3x8 Shimano Altus. So is 3x8 an uncommon setup? If I goto 3x10 I need to change the shifters, rear cassette, and derilleur correct?

So what are my options? I'm also a bigger rider, tipping the scale at about 260 and ride mostly singletracks, beginner and intermediate trails. Thanks for any help.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    i think you are correct about replacing all that if you go 3x10.

I have purchased harder to find stuff from Niagra Cycle works with good luck. If you want to stick with 8 speed for budget reasons this is definitely a cheaper option:

Altus 22x32x42t 7/8spd 175mm Square

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    you should be able to find used 8 and 9 speed stuff all day long. You will need shifters and a cassette .Your derailleur might work for 9 speed also. I would stay away from 10 spd stuff until it comes down in price. And I doubt you will need 10 over 8/9.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    Whats wrong with your current crankset now thats requiring you to upgrade?
    Put a mountain biker in a room with 2 bowling balls and we'll break one and lose the other - GelatiCruiser

Is dang happy!
    Full 10 speed drivetrain upgrades are not really "cheap". Wheels and fork are where you will get the most bang for the buck. If it is worn out the 8 speed Acera is only $4 more than the Altus and you can replace the rings when you need to.
    The wheel is a extension of the foot

mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by SandSpur View Post
    Whats wrong with your current crankset now thats requiring you to upgrade?