mtbr member
    Dec 2012

New question here. Need help upgrading my Marin Alpine Trail to Shimano XT components

Want to start by saying this is a great forum and there's a huge wealth of knowledge available on here. I'm very new to mountain biking and I recently picked up an '09-'10 (I believe) Marin Alpine Trail. I want to upgrade the cassette, crank, front and rear derailer, and shifters to Shimano XT components. I'm also going to upgrade the wheelset... but I'm just going to be patient and snag a set that someone is letting go for cheap.

I've got everything priced up on chainreactioncycles. com and there are multiple choices on some of these components and I'm not sure which ones are correct for my mtb. I'm hoping maybe some of you can help point me in the right direction.

Shifters: chainreactioncycles .com/Models.aspx?ModelID=20701
    Cassette - chainreactioncycles .com/Models.aspx?ModelID=20677 - getting the 11-34 setup
    Crank - chainreactioncycles .com/Models.aspx?ModelID=20679 - is this the correct one? Do they make an all black?... I can't seem to find a triple in all black.
    Rear Derailer - chainreactioncycles .com/Models.aspx?ModelID=20699 - they make a shadow, a long cage, medium cage... not sure which one is correct. I was thinking of picking up this model in the medium cage. Thoughts?
    Front Derailer - chainreactioncycles .com/Models.aspx?ModelID=20684 - this is the big one with most questions. I don't know what milimeter ring to get, not sure if I get a direct, top, or bottom mount either? Any help is much needed.

This is what I'm looking at so far. I'm not sure if I need to go ahead and pickup a chain too or if the one currently on my bike will work. Also any other accessories that I'm leaving out? If there's some more info that you need from me before you can point me in the right direction, then please fire away and I'll answer it to the best of my abilities. Thanks in advanced for any and all suggestions/help.