mtbr member
    Oct 2008

Need 120mm fork to match new wheels

Accidentally posted this on the 29er general page, better suited to components.

Last topic was on wheels, after the recommendations I went with Stan's Arches matched to Hopes. Bike is a steel HT, and the fork being replaced is a 2012 Reba RL dual air with the 9mm QR.

Now I'm ready for the fork to match it. Stipulations are:

120 length
    Tapered
    15mm QR or TA
    Easy to maintain, not overly prone to problems (I am a novice at fork maintenance)
    $500ish price

So the usual suspects seem to be

2012 Tower Pro off pricepoint for less than $500
    Used Fox Float 32 off ebay
    2012 Revelation/Reba off pricepoint or somewhere else
    2013 Marz 44 micro switch TA 29 (Friend of a friend works for Marz, he said I could get one for cost or near it, so price would be similar to the Manitou)

Thoughts? The I would most likely prefer the Fox, but I've heard good things about the Manitou reliability and ease of maintenance. The marz is another option since it would be so cheap
    Last edited by Fluidworks; 02-07-2013 at 05:24 PM.

Trail Ninja
    Don't discount Manitou, since they aren't big and their prices are low. Their MARS Air/Coil spring is pretty awesome, with the supportive and active feel of coil in the earlier stroke for small bump compliance, and progressive feel and tunability of air for the mid and end strokes, and their weights are respectable at ~1700g. Decent stiffness with their 15QR, but prob not as stiff as the competition. The Tower has a 48mm offset, which helps reduce wheel flop and make the bike's steering tendencies like it has a steeper HA than forks with less offset (and more mechanical trail).