Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Mavic SLRs for my 29er build.

So after looking at cheaper options, I retracted and went for the Mavic SLRs for my carbon 29er build. For those of you that run these. What do you like or dislike about them? I hope I made the right choice, as I could have gone with the Ritchie vantage alloy wheelset for much cheaper. It looks like a solid & light wheelset as well.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    I have the Crossmax ST's and love them. I noticed the quicker engagement compared to the stock rims I had right away. I do have an annoying pinging sound coming from the rear spokes that I'm going to hopefully address today. No real complaints though. Have fun on your new build!

mtbr member
    I have been running the SLR's for 3 months now. I like them a lot so far, stiff, great engagement and pretty damn light. They seem really tough as I have gotten a stick in the spokes twice now, pulled me to a dead stop and no damage at all. I'm 200 lbs loaded up.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    The price of 1k and the width of 19mm offset the 1568g excellent weight. 19 is too skinny.
    Other wheels I would choose first are the Roval Control Carbon 29 with a bit negotiated off the 1200 list and star ratchet rear.
    I am drawn to the Syntace MX-W35 for their internal width of 28.5mm and a bit more weight for the money.
    Wheels and Hubs
    When the rims become available I'm building this with my Dt rear hub.

mtbr member
    The width doesn't seem to bother me at all but then I again, I run pretty skinny tires which don't bother me either.

Quote Originally Posted by eb1888 View Post
    The price of 1k and the width of 19mm offset the 1568g excellent weight. 19 is too skinny.
    Other wheels I would choose first are the Roval Control Carbon 29 with a bit negotiated off the 1200 list and star ratchet rear.
    I am drawn to the Syntace MX-W35 for their internal width of 28.5mm and a bit more weight for the money.