Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2009

Marzocchi 44 Revisited

I've been running the Marzocchi 44 Micro Ti for several months now on my WFO, and have actually been pretty happy. I reviewed it pretty favorably HERE, but as so many people have noted, I also wasn't blown away by the small bump compliance. Still, I've liked it enough to move it over to the paradox I'm building, so I called marzocchi and they hooked me up with a new pair of standard-steerer uppers on the cheap. I finally got around to swapping the uppers last week, and learned a few interesting things.

1) The foam rings between the seals and the wipers should be burned. These things are both pointless and tight as hell, and are definitely not helping the stiction issue. I spoke with Ronnie from Zocchi & he agrees.

2) There was dead rubber everywhere in the air spring side of the fork when I took it apart. This rubber appears to have come from the rubber guide on the negative spring assembly. In the process of talking to tech support about the small bump compliance, Ronnie pointed out that the bottom end of the negative spring is guided on the dummy rod by this rubber tophat guide/bumper. This guide sits tightly on the rod, and moves any time the negative spring is engaged. This means that in the top of the travel, you're getting all the added friction of moving this little bastard around with every small bump. Cutting the top hat off of this piece resolves the friction issues, while leaving the body to still function as a bumper. This schematic from Marzocchi shows what i'm talking about and you can see the rubber piece in this picture that I boosted from JCarpenter