Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

New question here. Manitou Tower Pro question

Hi friends, noob here. I have done some heavy reading and even though I dont really understand fork jargon I have gotten an opportunity I feel I should not pass. Is for a Manitou Tower Pro fork and it will go on a '13 Trek Marlin.

The only options I have available are:
    29 100mm/29 100mm QR15/29 100mm Taper QR15
    29 120mm/29 120mm QR15/29 120mm Taper QR15
    29 140mm Taper QR15
    29 80mm/29 80mm QR15/29 80mm Taper QR15

However, I dont know which will be the correct fork application. I ride XC w/ some DH. There are 2' drops, some small jumps, all mainly single track trails w/ medium rock gardens. I have read some threads here and I'm awfully confused. I would like to get the right fork the first time around.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

human dehumidifier
    I don't think any of those forks will work for you because they're tapered steerer with QR 15, and your bike has a straight 1-1/8" head tube with 9mm QR. You might be able to adapt the front hub to work or replace the front wheel to be compatible with the QR 15, but the headtube is what it is. You can't adapt a 1-1/8" frame to use a tapered steer tube.

Another concern is the Trek G2 geometry which uses a different fork, but that's not a deal breaker, it'll just change the handling a bit. I think it will steer quicker (maybe to the point of being twitchy) with a non-G2 fork. It might be the other way around though, I am not sure off the top of my head.

So you would ideally find a 100mm fork, G2 geometry, 9mm QR, with a straight 1-1/8" steer tube. Hope that helps.
    But if you close your eyes it becomes so easy to see

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    bob pretty sure he means he means he has the option of an 80mm, 100mm, and 120mm with a 9mmQR, or 15mmQR and the option of straight or tapered steerer tube, as well as the 140mm travel option. With that said, according to bob, you want the 29 100mm