Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2013

Looking for a wheel set under $500

I am new to mountain biking and I recently got a 2011 Specialized RH Comp29er. The previous owner, by the looks and feel of it didnt do any maintenance to the bike. My problem is that the free wheel sounded really bad and I cleaned it up some and greased it but it still has a grit feeling to it. Also the cassette feels really lose.The wheels are oem Alex wheels and specialized non sealed bearing hubs. So I was told it isnt worth the money to fix the free wheel and cassette. I am better off spending extra money and getting a decent pair of wheels. What do you recommend i do? I ahve been looking at several wheels packages and have found Fulcrum Red Power XL for 239 a set. I also looked at BWW and they have alot to choose from, just dont know if their prices is for a set on each. Anyways any help and advice would very helpful.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    Cant go wrong with Hope Pro 2 Evo hubs laced to Stans Flow EX's. check merlincycles, wiggle and cyclesportuk for the best price at the time. Shipping from UK to states seems to be under 10 days no matter what path you take.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by hedz0r View Post
    Cant go wrong with Hope Pro 2 Evo hubs laced to Stans Flow EX's. check merlincycles, wiggle and cyclesportuk for the best price at the time. Shipping from UK to states seems to be under 10 days no matter what path you take.
    Awesome combo, but if you're not in a hurry, I'd wait until they start shipping these wheelsets with the new Hope Pro Evo 2 40T hub. 40 POE vs the old 24 POE.

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by eurospek View Post
    Awesome combo, but if you're not in a hurry, I'd wait until they start shipping these wheelsets with the new Hope Pro Evo 2 40T hub. 40 POE vs the old 24 POE.
    Any idea how long? Also is 1900-2100g the normal weight of rims of this price range.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011