mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Look / Time / Crank Brothers Pedals

Hi Everyone,

does anyone have advice and experience on the following pedals:

~ Time ATAC
    ~ Look S - Track
    ~ Crankbrothers - Eggbeaters

I'm searching for an easy to clip in pedal that works in dry and wet/muddy conditions.

Thanks in advance...

Ski N Bike Tech

All three of those are good options, but I personally use Crankbrothers eggbeaters and candys. The new Eggbeater 3's are a bit stronger with the new forging and a reversed spring. I'm a big guy (280+) and enjoy them.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I have been using Time ATACS for 10+ years,they are not the lightest pedal but work great for me in all conditions and have been bullet proof . They often outlast my bikes.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    Are these gonna be your first clipless pedals or are you already comfortable clipping in and out?

I recently switched to eggbeaters after many years on shimano pedals. It took me a while to get used to to crank brothers, and am actually starting to like them now. The two reasons I switched to them was the weight and float. If you don't care about these things then I think you should try either time or shimano. The time and shimano pedals are extremely easy to get in and out of..with a nice positive feeling when the cleat engages. I feel like the cb's require a little more effort to click in...but that's just one mans opinion. Also noticed the cb's cleat wear out much quicker then what I'm used to...not a deal breaker since its a cheap part to replace.

We don't get much mud here...and when we do, bikes destroy the trails, so can't comment on that...but I've heard the eggbeaters shed mud extremely well. Maybe your local shop has some take offs you can pedal around the parking lot?

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    Thanks guys...