mtbr member
    Dec 2013

Heavy duty Wheels?

hello everyone, total noob here.
    So I am a Big guy 6'7" 320lbs. been riding my Trek Marlin 29er for about 4 months now and I am starting to have problems with my back wheel. Had to have 3 spokes replaced in the past month and today when I was out riding I managed to bend my stock rear wheel. So I am looking to upgrade the rear wheel. What wheels should I be looking at and what should I look for in a wheel. Plan on upgrading to a full suspension bike around February next year so it would be nice to be able to switch it over to the new bike also. Thanks in advance for any help.

SCRUBDUNKER
    Get some wheels built up - Stan's Flow EX rims on Hope hubs - you can change the endcaps on Hopes easily to adapt to other bikes and Flows will handle your weight no problem - get em built up with some nice, solid spokes. 36 hole wheels would be great too.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    A riding buddy of mine who is around 310 had similar issues, but he was using Flows laced to chris kings. He was lucky to have the wheels last two rides without needing MAJOR truing, and was constantly replacing spokes and re-dishing.

After spending a lot of time and money trying to keep his wheels in decent shape he actually decided to sell his Niner Jet 9 and bought a RM slayer that he got an incredible deal on.

I was happy to hear from him a few weeks ago and apparently the smaller, stronger wheels are working well.

So, definitely do not skimp on wheels for a guy of your size.

mtbr member
    I would recommend hadley hubs over the hopes, I recommended EVO hopes to a larger friend of mine this summer and he destroyed them in 2 months (bearings disintegrated), since then I have cracked 2 freehubs. They aren't as durable as they used to be.

SCRUBDUNKER
    How the wheels are laced and the spoke count and the spoke type has a big bearing on that, Rager

This place needs an enema
    Quote Originally Posted by paulwf150 View Post