Thread: Handlebars

mtbr member
    Jul 2012

Handlebars

Im trying to decide what bars to try first. My issue is that I have broken both my wrists and certain positions are not comfortable. I tend to ride with the outside heal of my hand on the outer most part of the grips...my wrist is pointed outward which puts my elbows out in the agressive position. This is most comfortable but puts a lot of pressure on the outside heal of my hands. Im new to mtn biking so maybe this is normal?
    The current bars on Rockhopper 29 have a 10 degree backsweep 4degree upsweep. Would you go with a flat bar with 3 degree backsweep or 1/2" rise with 8 degree backsweep and 4 degree upsweep or just something else altogether?
    I appreciate any suggestions.

mtbr member
    It's hard to say. If I understand your description, you might be better off with minimal or no sweep. However, the only way to find what works for you is to try bars with differing configurations. Buy less expensive bars until you find something that works. Then go for the zoot versions if you like. Also, you may find that your preferences change over time as your riding style (and your body) evolve.
    Use it, use it, use it while you still have it.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Ergon grips include a bumped out portion to rest the outside heal of your palm on. You rotate them until the grip is positioned to take some weight.
    ERGON BIKE ERGONOMICS

mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    Thanks for the feedback. I'm already running the ergon grips so it looks like it will be an educated guess and trial & error till I find what works. I think I will start off trying the flatbar with 3 degree backsweep. A guy at the bike shop is going to loan me some ergon grips with a short bar end intregrated into them to see if the different hand positions help.

banned
    Hold yor hands out in front of you with a slightly closed wrist and feels natural. Make a note of the angle of your hands relative to your arm.