mtbr member
    Jan 2008

Fox float 29 32 fork leaking oil after 8 months? Normal?

Got a fox 32 29 ctd kashima fork in March of this year. It started leaking at around 325 miles of XC riding. It's leaking on one side where the stanchion enters the tube. Is it normal for the seal to wear out at this interval?

mtbr member
    Have you pulled it apart to check for stanchion wear? I had the same issue on a 6 mo. old Fox CTD, turns out some dirt got past the wiper on one side and wore the coating down so oil was getting past the wipers. $205 for a non Kashima crown/steer/stanchion assembly. The Kashima version was $250 and had a 2 month lead time.

mtbr member
    Its never normal for oil to leak past the seals. I would talk to who you bought it from and see if this is covered under warranty.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    It's completely normal for seals to leak when they need replacing.
    Fox specifies 30hr service intervals for bath oil + inspection of seals.
    You can "wear out" seals for a variety of reasons.
    Riding conditions, maintenance(or lack of it), and cleaning of suspension components vary from rider to rider.
    It's not unusual to see seals needing replaced within 8 months.
    Some riders will see seals last for much longer than the specified service intervals, and others will see seals needing replaced within the service interval time frames.
    Seal replacement with leg bath oil replacement is usually what constitutes basic suspension service.
    Leaking seals are usually no big deal, just a sign that they need replaced.

Service intervals are here:
    Bike Suspension Service | FOX

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    I am pretty ignorant on this but have heard from LBS folks what Norman has said above, and friends who actually know what they are doing have told me the same.