Thread: Dropper

mtbr member

Dropper

New to mtn bikes and just picked up an SB95. Been told a dropper is a must!! So, initially ordered a DOSS Dropper, but now told it is poor quality. Any suggestions??
    If you don't like the way I ride, stay on the road!!!

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    I am new to dropper posts, went with LBS recc. and use a Specialized Blacklight and 8 months with zero issues. Simple mechanical design, so far good.

mtbr member
    Thompson
    www.teamnavycycling.org
    10 Pivot Mach 429
    09 Felt Nine Race
    03 Litespeed Tuscany

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Gravity Dropper turbo. Just about bombproof. If you don't like how it looks take off the boot and its way nicer.

undercover brother
    My reverb has been without issues so far. I can't imagine riding without one now.

Certifiably Crazy
    I've been using a Specialized Command Post Blacklite for the last six months without issues. I like it. It only has three positions in case that's a dealbreaker to you.
    2013 Felt Edict Nine

mtbr member
    They all are good and they all suck. The Gravity dropper is the only one that does not have numerous failures. It is just ugly. All the others have issues. Pick your poison.

On a side note, droppers are a fantastic addition to your bike. If you are a bigger guy (or gal), they are absolutely essential.
    On MTBR, the reputation is infamous.

mtbr member
    Picked up an SB95 myself about 4 weeks ago and just added a Reverb to it yesterday. I have heard of all the issues before buy my LBS told me they seem to be doing much better now. I was planning on going with the KS Lev but they said it would of been about 30-45 days to get one so I went with the Reverb. Took it for a little spin last night and it performed well so far.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006