Page 123 of 266 FirstFirst ... 23 73 113 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 133 173 223 ... LastLast
Results 3,051 to 3,075 of 6640
    transmitter~receiver
    Quote Originally Posted by kindacreeky View Post
    Appreciate the advice. This is my first wheel build, and I am just learning about this science. I am an engineer, and am trying to understand the physics of this. With a 2X pattern, the spoke pulls more outward on the hub flange. With the 3X, the pull is more tangential. I can see why CK would specify the 3X only pattern, as that would stress the hub flange less (more meat in hub when pulling tangential than more straight out). Can anyone explain why it would be preferable to put the 2x on the Drive side of the rear?
    I don't think it would meaningfully affect the performance. You will shave a handful of grams with the shorter spokes and very very slightly increase the bracing angle on that side. A 2x wheel is very very slightly more radially and laterally rigid than a 3X wheel. I don't know of anyone having looked at mixed pattern wheels.

Also, I have read in this forum that 2x gives a more rigid build. Is this true? On my Tallboy, with FS, I am mainly interested in improved lateral rigidity and more accurate tracking out of this wheel, but of course want to keep weight down too.

Last night, I checked some wheels built for me by Dave's Wheels at Speedreams.com. He built a 26er wheel for my Blur and he put 2x on the low tension sides front and rear; and 3x on the high tension side. So I was going by that example.
    3x all around is probably the best bet. Anything else will be just for fun and not meaningfully affect performance.
    I did 3x-1x heads out on my SS front wheel just for fun.
    Quote Originally Posted by pvd
    Time to stop believing the hype and start doing some science.
    29er Tire Weight Database

mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Shipping time