mtbr member
    Sep 2012

Best disc brake for a big boy?

I am pretty new to the whole mountain bike world especially the 29er world. I am a pretty solid dood 6'2 260 and im wondering what would be the best brake option for me? The stock ones that came on my DB Overdrive feel weak tryin to stop me when I am riding hard or downhill. I do a lot of pavement riding with a little bit of trail as of right now.

Sorry if this is in the wrong section of the forums and thank you for your time.

mtbr member
    Aug 2004
    Liking the Magura Marta FR brakes. The Marta's replaced a set of Elixir 5 and am very satisfied with the upgrade. Pretty much eliminated brake fade and chatter. Check Jenson if interested.

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by m2toinstinct View Post
    Liking the Magura Marta FR brakes. The Marta's replaced a set of Elixir 5 and am very satisfied with the upgrade. Pretty much eliminated brake fade and chatter. Check Jenson if interested.
    Thank you for the input best part about Jensons is that i live 10 mins from both their store locations so i can walk in and check them out

mtbr member
    I'm a big Formula fan for stopping power but you cant beat the new Shimano line (SLX, XT or XTR) for stopping power, ease of maintenance, pad & parts availability and reliability.
    This may be a total waste of time but I can't help but think that you might amount to something someday.

Carbon & Ti rule
    Shimano XT Trail brakes.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    +1 for XT/SLX.

They're usually pretty reliable. Make sure you go for 180mm rotor on the front at the minimum. The larger rotor improves stopping power.
    Rimmer - "There's an old human saying - if you talk garbage, expect pain"

mtbr member
    Keep in mind, new brakes of the caliber mentioned can be expensive. You are looking at a starting point of around $300.00 for a new set. You might want to swap the rotors first depending upon the size you have now.

mtbr member