mtbr member
    Jan 2006

Anyone want to help me spend my money?

Hi all. I just started riding again this past winter and after a full season I am hooked again. Back in March I bought a Felt Nine Sport and I love the bike. I ride in the northeast and I have noticed my style is mainly all mountain. I like to pound through some rock gardens and love love some fast single track.

Anyway after learning and riding and reading and riding and riding I want to do some upgrades this winter.

Budget is around $1,500 for what I want to do. Any more and I should really just start looking at another bike (after I demo'd a 650b I really like those too).

I would like to replace the entry level RS XC28 fork and also upgrade to a new lighter wheelset. In addition I would like to switch to a CF riser handlbar and CF seatpost.

Next year I will probably replace the crank and front derailure but so far they are holding up pretty well. I removed the outer ring of the crank and replaced it with a bash guard due to the excessive rock gardens we deal with out here.

Any suggestions or reccomendations? Sorry for the newb question but there is just so much to chose from I am getting a bit overwhelmed.

Thanks
    12' Felt NINE Sport

turtles make me hot
    I'm great at this. (Spending other people's money.)

A set of Hope Pro 2 Evo hubs, Stan's Flow EX rims and a Rockshox Reba.

That was fun.
    I like turtles

turtles make me hot
    BTW, you ever ride at Trumble? I hear it's awesome. I want to take a day trip.
    I like turtles

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by NYrr496 View Post
    BTW, you ever ride at Trumble? I hear it's awesome. I want to take a day trip.
    I have not treked Trumble yet although I heard the same as you. I spend most of my time at Bluff Point. Basicaly spent all season there and I can say I am pretty good at all it has to offer for my riding style but i just keep breaking my bike. It's at the LBS as we speak