Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2010

American Classic All Mountain Vs Stans Arch EX

Hi
    Anyone got any feed back on the pros and cons of these new wheel sets. Heard the AC hubs are better than the stan hubs, etc
    Is the AC wheel $150 better wheel than the Arch Ex.
    Ease of airing up tubless.

cheers
    Hardtails are for the road, Full Sus is for the dirt. Guess what...PARADOX... Its wrong that a Hardtail can be this much..FUN

Trail Junkie
    Floydo,

I cannot comment on the Arch EX, but I do have the AmClassic AM 29ers. They are the smoothest stiffest wheel I have ever been on. Granted I haven't been on Carbon yet, so I can't compare against that, but they are fantastic wheels! The Hubs are top notch, I have both the tubeless XC 29 that I have been rolling with on my SS for a couple years now...no degrade in performance yet, and have about 800mi. on the AMs, and they have been stellar! Comparing hubs, yes I'd say the AC hubs are much better. They have a 6 pawl engagement vs the Stan's 3 pawl system, and like I said...2yrs, no maintenance, no adjustments.

I am not sure how much the Arch EX's go for, but if you go to Bike Bling and use the "REALDEAL" coupon code, you can get the American Classic AM 29s for $629. Maybe that might bring the price closer to a decision.
    Santa Cruz Tallboy carbon
    Lynskey Pro29 SL SS
    Cervelo S2 Ultegra
    Salsa Selma
    Soul Cycle Dillinger Gen3

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by dubdryver View Post
    Floydo,