mtbr member
    Apr 2013

29er forks, help!

I recently bought a 2013 cannondale trail 6. Im a poor college student and I needed a new bike in the worst way, so I had to go a little cheap, I know. But the forks that come standard on this bike just arent cutting it. I like a more firm ride in the front end. I was wondering if anybody had any suggestions on a cheaper set of forks i could buy to help with this problem? Rockshox XC 32 100mm, maybe?

mtbr member
    I think SunTour also has some new low cost forks.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Random Bike Parts has a RockShox Recon Gold solo air at 3.5lbs. for 240.
    Nick at Suntour has a %lb. Raidon air fork upgrade for 175. Read the Suntour upgrade thread in Beginners for reviews. He also has a 3lb. Epicon for 250 but you need a 15mm front hub wheel for the model he has. An additional valuable weight lose but another 200.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    Surly KM fork should be pretty firm.

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    What shocks came on it? Sometimes if they are coil you can swap the springs out, I had to do that on my recons as being 200 plus lbs on any given day the std spring was way to weak. Put in the biggest one they made and the shocks are great now, no more bottoming out over 2" roots.
    Giant XTC 2 29er
    KHS Flagstaff 29er FS
    Neon Bow Trials Bike
    Norco Fluid 9.2 29er FS
    Norco BIGFOOT FATTY

Short-Change-Hero
    Need a budget before we can recommend. What type of terrain you ride, your riding style, etc.
    On-One Inbred 29er (Purple People Eater)
    Kona Jake
    Bikes for Boobs F*ck Cancer! One too many, 6/24/13. Miss ya ma'.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by fahza29er View Post
    What shocks came on it? Sometimes if they are coil you can swap the springs out, I had to do that on my recons as being 200 plus lbs on any given day the std spring was way to weak. Put in the biggest one they made and the shocks are great now, no more bottoming out over 2" roots.