mtbr member
    Jan 2011

2011 Rock Shox Reba RL Dual Air Fork 29er OE

Will this fork fit on my hardrock sport 29er. Its a 2011, and just wanted to be sure before purchasing. Excuse the ignorance, Im new to the sport. Also what does the OE stand for?

thanks in advance fellers

Also what do bike shops usually charge to install these things? (ball park figure)

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    I think OE = Original Equipment.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    You need the 1-1/8" steerer with QR bottom. Here's an install video.
    Suspension fork upgrade installation - YouTube

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by eb1888 View Post
    Are u talking about tools or extra components...LBS will be doing all the work

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by das028 View Post
    He is telling you what style of fork to get. For your bike you will need the Reba with a straight 1 -1/8" steerer tube with a 9mm quick release. Other models have a 15 or 20mm axel with a tapered tube.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    I'm talking about information. It is an easy job. If you want someone else to do it, watch the video so you know what needs to be done and how to get good service. That is a very good fork.

Professional Crastinator
    I just got one of those forks. Couldn't pass up the deals at BlueSky.

It has a straight steerer and uses either a standard quick release or a 9mm thru-bolt axle front hub with a disc brake. I'm sure your HardRock has all of that. You can probably even use your old headset.

The fork is also adjustable from 80-120mm. It comes set at 100mm. You extend or reduce the travel by removing the installed bushing or adding the included bushing. This requires fork disassembly.

A fork swap is pretty easy stuff. Check out some vids.

The set-up on mine was a complete no-brainer. Air up to ~25% sag. Go ride. Fiddle with the damping - although mine ended up just about in the middle of the range anyway.

-F