mtbr member

2011 Avid bb7 disc brake work on my 08 GF Cobia?

so i have a 08 GF Cobia 29er. i want/need to upgrade my disc brakes. Will this set up work with my bike?

i cant post links yet since im a noob here still but heres the specs

2011 Avid BB7 Disc Brake Combo Kit

Kit Includes Front, and Rear 160mm Disc brakes, Avid Speed Dial 7 Levers, and Shimano Brake Cable and Housing Kit.

Avid Mechanical BB7 Disc Brake:
    Rotor: Avid G2 Clean Sweep Rotors

Weight: 361g

Includes: Rotor, Hardware, Pads, and Caliper

Avid Speed Dial 7 Brake Levers:

Weight: 195 grams

Color: Silver/Black

Sold In Pairs

Shimano Brake Cable and Housing Kit:
    Color: Black

Housing Dia & Length: 5 x 1700mm

Cable Length: 800mm/1600mm

2011 Avid BB7 Disc Brake Combo Kit
    This Avid Kit offers the top of the line Avid BB7 160mm Disc Brakes, with upgraded Avid G2 Clean Sweep Rotors, Avid Speed Dial 7 levers, and Shimano Brake Cable Kit. The Avid BB7's mechanical disc braking system for mountain bikes provides tenacious power and superb modulation without having to upgrade your levers or bother with hydraulics. The Avid Speed Dial 7 levers compact length lever design allows 1 or 2 finger use.

mtbr member
    It should work.

I think the BB7 kit comes with spacer appropriate for the rotor size that comes with it, so I think it's a direct bolt on upgrade without having to adjust the height of the brake.

mtbr member
    sweet. can anyone else also chime in? i just want to make sure its a direct swap i can pretty much do.

blueskycycling.com is selling this deal for $129.98 sale. 50% off if anyone is wondering. pretty good deal to me it seems.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by Biggi_e View Post
    sweet. can anyone else also chime in? i just want to make sure its a direct swap i can pretty much do.

blueskycycling.com is selling this deal for $129.98 sale. 50% off if anyone is wondering. pretty good deal to me it seems.