mtbr member
    May 2013

New question here. *Help* RH Crank Required

First of all i'm totally new to the world of mountain biking so be gentle.

I'm in need of some assistance in buying the correct RH crank for Specialized Carve Comp 29er 2012. I've checked the specs online but it doesn't give me a part number as such. The only detail i have is 'Shimano Alivio 9-Speed 44-32-22T'.

When i set the bike up i must have been an absolute school boy and cross threaded the RH Pedal and it has totally buggered the threads so much so that the pedal doesn't even screw in at all I'm more than happy to fit the part myself if anyone can point me in the right direction to get the exact replacement.

Thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    How far did you cross-thread it before stopping? If only the first 1 or 2 are damaged you may be able to run a tap through to clean them out. See if you can thread the pedal in from the backside of the crank and use a fresh pedal to do it. You may have damaged the pedal threads too and you may be able to clean them up with a file or die.

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Specs say it has an Octalink BB.
    Shimano Alivio MTB Crankset 22/32/44 175 Octalink B - Bikewagon
    Shimano FC-M430 Kurbel Octalink schwarz 175mm
    You will likely have to buy a complete crank unless your LBS has a take off.
    I'd be tempted to put a Deore or SLX crank on.

mtbr member
    May 2013
    Thanks for the replies.

I've totally buggered the threads so it'll deffo be a replacement needed. I've managed to find this Shimano Alivio FCM430 9 speed MTB MTN Bike Crank Chainset 44T 175 BLACK Octalink | eBay

Not as expensive as i first thought. Is replacing a crank fairly straight forward?

Thanks again for your responses.

mtbr member
    Straightforward if you have the right tool for the job. Everything is explained here .