Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    jl
    climb

Workin' Man's Super-Bling Drive Train

So I've been riding the same drive train for almost 4 years. I've changed the chainrings once, and the cassette twice and the chain twice. But overall the drive train is worn out, the bottom bracket is noisy. I haven't really been happy with the splined XT crank set I have--the right crank arm keeps coming loose. The rear derailleur isn't shifting like it use to--I've dropped the chain into the spokes on the last 4 rides.

I decided it was time to 'upgrade' the drive train.

I know the 29er board has some great setups with sawed-off-polished XTRs, Middleburns, Whirlies, WIs etc. Those are very nice but too much bling for me. So I decided on the workin' man's drive train.

Funny thing is that the UN-54 BB I'm using spins much smoother than my wife's external XT BB. I'm not a big fan of external BBs--they seem to have a fair amount of drag, you think they would spin more freely than the old-school BBs, but they don't. I think this setup will be a as good as any of the "new" technologies available.

I took the bike out for an initial spin last night, approximately 15 miles with 2K elevation gain. Not a problem with the shifting. As for the cranks, they felt like every other crank I've had--when you push them down, the bike moves forward.

Shiny blue-collar drive train.

Devo
    thats pretty much the same drive train i have on The Dummy but using a Truvativ crank which has all steel rings.

its amazing how much things can cost.
    www.AsanaCycles.com
    "Bicycle Lifestyle, realized." D.G.

Recovering Weight Weenie
    Quote Originally Posted by jl
    As for the cranks, they felt like every other crank I've had--when you push them down, the bike moves forward.
    ]
    Weird. My XTR's and Middleburn's do the same thing...but lighter.

mtbr member
    Oct 2006