Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Whats up with Expensive Bikes?

Hello,

I am fairly new to mountain biking and I picked myself up a Trek Wahoo 29er and I have been having a blast on local trails (White clay,Middle run, Fair hill) for those that are familiar.

Ive read multiple threads about expensive vs inexpensive bikes and still havent found what I am looking for.

Is the general basis that more expensive $2,000 for example bikes are lighter and also stronger? and that is the reason for purchase.

I come from doing motorcycle track days and what I have experienced there is it is way more about rider ability then the bike. It really doesnt matter a whole lot what kind of bike someone has because having a high end bike only matters when things get going very fast.

I am looking to take a rental bike from bike line out on the trail which are higher end bikes and I would like to know what I am looking for to compare it to my wahoo.

At the moment I just plan to ride as much as possible on my wahoo until I do feel the bike is holding me back.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. So far have been really enjoying browsing this forum.

mtbr member
    Strong-Light-Cheap Pick 2, goes the saying. If you want strong and light (and who doesn't), you pay more for better material, better engineering and better quality control. Your statement about rider ability is true - most agree that the rider skill and fitness makes most of the difference. But if it wasn't for weight-weenie, bling loving, gotta-have-better-stuff tendencies in most of us, who would fuel the growth of the bike industry? It's not about the bike, but let's face it, a lot of it is.
    Use it, use it, use it while you still have it.

mtbr member