mtbr member
    Feb 2014

What should I be looking for in a first trail bike?

I made the possible mistake of already getting my wife a mountain bike. I got her a Trek 820 which she loves. She is the type that doesn't like to spend a lot of money so after talking to the guy at the bike shop this seemed like it would suit her well. Apparently I should have done more research because there is a female version of this bike the noz at the shop never told us about. All that being said, I want to do it right when I get my bike.

I'm going to use the bike mostly for trail riding and the possibility of road riding several miles to get to the trails. I am a beginner at trail riding but I have been flying through the woods on dirtbikes all my life so that is the sort of riding I am looking to do. I wanna ride some gnarly trails and jump off some roots and such. I plan on shopping around. Instead of going to the first shop outside the military base I live on, I will go to a big city like Louisville and stop at all their shops. I am thinking buying used might be the best idea that way I could get more bike for the money, right?

My budget will be between $500-600. The less I spend the better. I realize this is a small budget but let's not forget I am merely a beginner and this is why I am thinking used might be the way to go. What sort of features should I look for in a bike? At my price range is there certain brands I should try to get and certain brands I should try to avoid?

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Look for something without a Suntour fork. The fork is the most important performance component.
    For new a BD Gravity point4 has a useable fork and good components. Compare used options to that.

mtbr member