Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

What gear am I in ?

I took a demo ride on a friend of a friend's 29er this past weekend (2x9 drive train). Hopped on the bike & went to shift and realized there were no gear indicators OK I have been on mtn. bikes for over 10 yrs. and have always had Shimano shifters w/ gear indicators. I test rode the 29er and found myself shifting quite a bit & more than w/ my smaller wheeled bike. So do you just get use to not having gear indicators or do you just look down @ your gears ? I will be building up a FS 29er in the coming weeks and it seems like gear indicators don't come on a lot of the newer shifters. Thanks.

I like turtles
    You shouldn't need gear indicators to know your gearing/figure what gear you are on in. You choose gears based on resistance/cadence...do it by feel man!
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

1*14*29*2.1 & 1*1*29*2.4
    Nov 2009
    I like indicators, but not everyone does. I like them for a few reasons...knowing what gear you are in tells you how you are dealing with a climb. Also seeing what gear you are in helps to prepare for a pinch climb after a racing descent. fashion says no to indicators but I like them, and would search them out. I have a rohloff though so I don't need to worry, when I can read them.

TR
    Angry bunny
    there has not been gear indicators on shifters for about 3 or 4 years.
    You should not be looking down at your shifters anyway.

1*14*29*2.1 & 1*1*29*2.4
    Nov 2009
    do you guys who don't have indicators ever look down to the drivetrain to see what gear you are in?

Expert Crasher
    Quote Originally Posted by finch2 View Post
    do you guys who don't have indicators ever look down to the drivetrain to see what gear you are in?
    Nope. Ride by feel. Road bikes don't have indicators either.