Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Velocity P35 vs. Velocity Blunt rims?

10K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  danwerle 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm 39. I ride cross-country trails during the summer on a hardtail with a suspension fork. During the winter, I convert my 29er to a fully-rigid, drop bar 29er/monstercross bike. I've been using the Velocity Blunt rims for a couple of years and typically ride this wheelset with tubed 2.25-2.4 (advertised) tires. I've been pretty happy with the set-up. I'm switching my race wheelset over to Blunt SLs next season (from VXC 29er rims), and am kicking around changing the Blunts to P35s. I've never run tubeless, but am anxious to try. I know there are several combinations available for running Blunts tubeless (many of which are available on threads in this forum), but I'm guessing there are more combinations that are easier to set up with the P35s. Plus, the wider footprint of the P35 is appealing. I like using big tires to train on. The rim change would be done by a very good local builder here in Portland (OR). Any thoughts? Waste of resources? Any drawbacks - aside from a 100+ gram (rotating) weight gain per wheel?

Thanks guys.

Dan

#3 ·
Since the rim is stronger I went down to DT Swiss revolution spokes/alloy nipples and got back another 70 grams/ wheel. I use Blunts and P35 with 650b. I can go down a couple of Psi using P35. I like them but the Velocity rims are harder to build true than Stan's or Dt Swiss rims.

#4 ·
I have been running a P35 32h in the front and a Blunt 36h in the rear for 2yr almost. The P35 will cause a tire to 'grow' so watch fork clearance! The big rim in the front is amazing on rigid. In the rear..agin tire clearance-that is why i went Blunt. I'm 250lb and have had no trouble-I build wheels-so they were right to start. I say dont fret the weight-go big in the front!

#7 ·