Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2012

Trek Marlin Vs. Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc 29er

I am new to the mountain biking world but I have been to two different stores with a friend and these two bikes stuck out to me, they are both about the same price and both seemed to ride well. I do not know too much about mountain bikes, what do ya'll think of these bikes and the pro's and con's of each. Which one would be the better bike.

I am 6'2" and have pretty long legs, what size bike should I be looking to get?

I plan on doing basic trails with small jumps, nothing too crazy. I def like the 29 inch wheel over the 26 inch.

Thank you for all the help!

-Jim

Specialized Bicycle Components

Marlin - Trek Bicycle

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    6'2" is in the XL category (21" - 22")

If I had to choose between the two I would go with the specialized because of the hydraulic brakes.

Good luck

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    Thanks! I was thinking that too, I was reading some reviews today and I saw most people had problems with the Marlin brakes.

mtbr member
    Marlin, 21" good luck!

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    I think that low end hydraulics are just as prone to problems like low end cable disc brakes. I have a marlin and weight 200lbs and after a break in period with the breaks they are ok. Also, the marlin gives you the same frame as the X Cal, but with Trek you have the G2 fork to worry about if you want to upgrade the fork later. If you haven't thrown a leg over either do that first. Don't try to spec out a bike before you ride it. I test rode the hard rock and to me the marlin felt better. I also test rode Scott Scale Comp, Felt Nine Trail and Diamondback Overdrive.

mtbr member
    Sep 2012