mtbr member
    Feb 2013

Trek Fuel 7 for Western Washington trail systems

I'm thinking about taking up trail riding again, as I am under medical direction to lose weight, and bike riding is one of the things that I do for fun.

I have a hardtail (Cannondale Flash 3) right now, and am thinking about picking up a Trek Fuel 7 for trail riding. I am a beginner, definitely not advanced. I am wondering if anyone can offer comments on how this bike would do for Western Washington trails?

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    I wouldn't buy a Fuel unless it had the Re:aktiv shock. So look at the ex8 even if it's the 2017 model.
    Everyone is entitled to my opinion.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by ghoti View Post
    I wouldn't buy a Fuel unless it had the Re:aktiv shock. So look at the ex8 even if it's the 2017 model.
    I don't know the OP's weight or if the discussion is a new Fuel EX but side with that shock being the heart of making the Treks super bikes. For the OP, that shock when set up correctly has the Treks give you the best of multiple suspension designs. A bike that's firm when you pedal, plush when needed, and a rear wheel that stays planted on the ground with traction for braking. No need to flip the shock's lever for firmer pedaling in most situations. Proper inflation and rebound setting is all important for that shock.

Beyond that shock, the updated for 2017+ Fuel EX is a superb bike for a ride that is both true trail bike and way more cable than any past iteration of that model name. A Trek engineer friend pointed out that he chooses the current Fuel EX for most riding because "it is way more capable than most realize". He designed the current Slash and says he's jumped his Fuel EX 30 feet. Other associates choose that bike as something they can use in a race as well as ride about anywhere.
    ƃuoɹʍ llɐ ʇno əɯɐɔ ʇɐɥʇ

mtbr member
    Aug 2007