mtbr member
    Jan 2006

Titanium Hardtail vs. aluminum (maybe carbon) dual suspension

My birthday is around the corner and it's a big one. The wife is asking me what I want and I want to upgrade my 29er. I've been riding a Motobecane SL Pro for three years and have enjoyed it. Bought it with the thought that I didn't want to spend too much money in case I don't like 29ers. Thinking about asking for a new frame and switch my gear over. I'm trying to decide between a ti hardtail or an aluminum dual suspension.

I ride mostly rooty singletrack in the mid atlantic. Every now and then I hit some pretty rocky sections, but nothing too technical. I like shorter travel bikes (100mm) and usual ride for 2-4 hours at a time. Looking to stay under $2k for a frame. Any thoughts suggestions? Thanks!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by oldfatslow View Post
    My birthday is around the corner and it's a big one. The wife is asking me what I want and I want to upgrade my 29er. I've been riding a Motobecane SL Pro for three years and have enjoyed it. Bought it with the thought that I didn't want to spend too much money in case I don't like 29ers. Thinking about asking for a new frame and switch my gear over. I'm trying to decide between a ti hardtail or an aluminum dual suspension.

I ride mostly rooty singletrack in the mid atlantic. Every now and then I hit some pretty rocky sections, but nothing too technical. I like shorter travel bikes (100mm) and usual ride for 2-4 hours at a time. Looking to stay under $2k for a frame. Any thoughts suggestions? Thanks!
    Either one would be a good choice. IMHO, it would depend on where you would do a majority of your riding. If mostly rooty singletrack, then I would lean towards the FS. But for versatility, I would go with the Ti hardtail. I like the Ti hardtail for when the trails are not ready to ride, I can hit the dirt/pave roads and still ride my mtb. And yet, it's still perfectly fine for most trail riding.

my 2
    Randy