mtbr member

Stick with Stans Flow or MTX33

I have about 3-4 years of riding on a Stans Flow (prior to EX) 32 hole laced up to a Rohloff (large flange), I recently bumped the wheel on a rocky section running some lower pressure after getting a slow leak. First I noticed the broken spoke nipple and when I went to replace it I noticed the bump. Wheel was trued and I have been running it for the last several months. I noticed a few spokes coming loose and then realized I have a significant hairline crack across one of the spoke holes and small cracks starting on about 5 or 6 holes.

I have full faith in the wheel builder (Neil at Cycle Monkey).

I was reading up on rims and looks like Stans changed the Flow a bit with the EX, supposedly supports more tension and slightly stronger. Im no lightweight at 240# and ride some fairly chunky trails.

Big question is stick with a Stans Flow EX or move onto an MTX33. I really don't see any other options now that the Gordo's are gone. I want strength and don't even run them tubeless but have been considering trying the rear out tubeless...

Whats the word on the old Flows to the Flow EX? or should I just go MTX33...?

update: sorry meant the post to be in 29er components
    Last edited by RipRoar; 05-11-2013 at 11:22 PM.

Rohloff
    I've been riding a Rohloff with Stans Flow for about 5 years. I'm a little lighter than you but ride rough trails year round. I recently had my wheels trued and the mechanic said he saw some small cracks. He didn't seem real concerned but suggested I start thinking about new rims. An MTX33 is a stronger/heavier option but my preference would be for another Stans Flow. It really comes down to your preference for weight and strength.

mtbr member