Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Steel 29er recommend

6K views 42 replies 34 participants last post by  sikocycles 
#1 ·
I just sold my first full suspension bike. I had my specialized camber for about 6 months and rode it a lot. But I've been riding for over 25 years (44 y/o) and I just didn't like riding the tank and I'm excited to go back to hardtail. After having aluminum, then carbon, then full suspension, I want to go back to a real bike and build a really nice steel bike. So your opinions are welcomed.

Steel bike recommendations?

Non-custom frames that I'm looking at:
Salsa El Mariachi ~$2000 complete
Ritchey P-29 (really like this one) ~$900 frame
Niner ROS (more aggressive geometry - not sure about that) ~$900 frame

#3 ·
Niner doesn't make the MCR any longer, at least according to their current website. I guess I didn't realize the SIR9 could also be geared but after checking it out, it can be either ss or geared. Excellent option.

I'll check the others out too. Thanks!

#5 ·
There's also the Jamis Dragon and the Kona Honzo. If you were interested in aggressive AM hardtails like the Niner ROS9 or Honzo, there is also the Canfield Nimble 9. I have a Honzo and a SIR9 myself. I prefer the SIR9 for normal XC trails, especially if they are super twisty, which is most of the trails I usually ride. But if the trail has lots of big rocks, drops, or jumps, then the Honzo is the way to go.

#15 ·
Agreed, I have a Spot Honey Badger and it is incredible.
It is a single speed but they have a geared version too.

Also been thinking about adding a 1x10 Hard Tail to the quiver and the Kona Honzo is on the top of the charts. Either that or another HB and run an internal geared hub with a belt drive.

#14 ·
Size XL. Open for other offers though - Frame or complete bike.