Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Harshing my mellow, man..
    Jun 2008

Stan's Raven 29er Tire

I was wondering if anyone had any experience with the NoTubes Raven 29er tire, and what your opinion on it was? I'm going to need to invest in a new set of tires soon, and they looked pretty good. I'm not too rough on tires, and I have an S-works Captain on my bike now.

Recovering Weight Weenie
    About half the volume of the Captain with less than half the traction.

mtbr member
    Depends on where you ride I guess...I like it on the rear. The tire rolls great and the breaking traction is really good with the correct pressure. Obviously it gives up some on high speed turns but about 1/4lb lighter than the captain talked about above.

mtbr member
    I've been running mine front and rear for about three months now. I replaced a set of crows I had for about a year. I find them to be good for the topography I ride which includes a lot of short steep climbs. The trails here are mostly tacky soil with roots at all different angles, rocks, logs, and lots of water bars on the climbs. In dry to slightly moist conditions, I have set my personal best on a six mile loop and an eleven mile loop on these tires. Even in the rain, I have not had and traction issues but did slow down and stick to the edges. The only spin out issues have been climbing water bars with about 1/2" of snow. What I do like is that these tires do not clog up, they shed mud pretty cleanly. Traction is good as long as you adjust for the conditions. The key to traction is dialing in the pressure and properly weighting and unweighting your tires over obstacles and keeping a good smooth spin. I run about 26 lbs. front and 28 lbs. rear. A more aggressive tire up front would be a good combo for railing the corners.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "There is no try, either do -- or do not"

Old Fart at Play
    Quote Originally Posted by volpepazza