Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2012

which size Gary Fisher 29er, 19 or 21. I am 6"1'

My inseam is maybe a 33 but im not sure, could be an inch or two either way. Anyway I am purchasing the Trek Mamba. I am a beginner and never had a bike before so when I test rode both of these, i didnt really know how they are supposed to feel. Even though the 21 inch touched when i stood over it, I could still pull the bike up about an inch before it smashed my pelvic bone. I guess turning on the 21 inch was a little rougher. The 19 gave me more clearance.

The guy at the Trek shop said these specific Trek frames are made bigger than usual, is this true?
    Is it also true that if you get a 29er you should move down a frame size than if you bought a 26?

mtbr member
    Aug 2004
    ride them both. I'm about the same specs and didn't like the upright feel of the 19" rumblefish. I'd be too hunched over the front on climbs trying to keep the wheel down. 21" fits pretty darn good, just flipped the stem and was on the trails happy.

BTW my Hardtail is a 19" but not its a trek.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    I rode them both. Felt like i could control the 19 on turns better but i will be doing road riding as well. I heard it was uncomfortable and bad for your back when you're road riding if you go a size smaller.

Rides the Desert
    I am 6'1" and ride a 21" Trek Mamba. Feels great, but I like the feel of longer top tubes for a more aggresive XC geometry

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    hmm so that's 2 people for the 21". Maybe I should go test ride that 21 again

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    I'm 6' 1" with a 35" inseam and ride a 19" X-Cal, feels good to me. Never tried a 21" so nothing to compare with.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    I'm 6'1" and ride a 19 trek x-cal.

Is dang happy!
    I think 29er G2 geometry might work better with a slightly smaller frame. Weighting the front wheel was a chore on my 19" and I am 5'10.
    The wheel is a extension of the foot