mtbr member
    Apr 2008

Should I get a new RIP9?

Or something else? I've been riding a 29er since 2006 and want to continue but I'm leaning toward a FS bike this time. I've been looking and debating for a long time and have heard good things about the new RIP9's.

It's probably a little more bike than I need but I don't race much anymore and would rather have a little extra than come up a bit short on travel and whatnot.

I've ridden a new Fuel EX 8 29" and a few others and they're nice. We're getting a Niner dealer in town any week now (supposedly) so I'm looking forward to trying a RIP finally. I'm also going to ride the usual Specialized suspects since they're nearby as well. Any pro's, cons, or things to look for or compare? I'd probably get a 2-3 star spec'd bike or equivalent if all goes as planned. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Jun 2004
    Yes. As long as it fits you right and you feel good on it, then you can't really go wrong with one. Even if you go with one of the lesser parts build, see if you can get an upgrade to the Rockshox Pike. You won't regret it.

Mine's not a highend build, mostly X9, but I read so many things here about how good the Pike was, especially with the new RIP, that I ditched my plans of carrying over my Reba RLT and sprung for one. The Niner 3 star build with an upgrade to a Pike looks pretty unbeatable. Can always add a dropper post in the future.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Thanks. I'm anxious to try one since we're getting a dealer a few blocks from where I work. I've seen a lot of high praise for the Pike, and I'd love to have one if it's in the budget. I know I won't get a Sektor...Revelation is alright.

I have a Reba on my current bike (Fisher X-cal) and like it but I know the Pike is a whole different beast. Did you build your own and just get the frame from Niner?

mtbr member
    Sep 2013