mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Scott Aspect 940 vs Airborne Guardian

I'm looking to get my first entry level 29er. I've done a little bit of research and have come down to two models, the Scott Aspect 940 and the Airborne Guardian. I've ridden the Aspect 940 and liked it. I liked it a lot better than the Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc and Rockhopper that I tried and think it has better components. The cost of the Guardian and the Aspect 940 is about the same. Any recommendations or suggestions would really help since I'm new to all of this and am still learning.

Thanks for your help.

The specs are below:

Scott Aspect 940 - $689
    Weight - 14,5kg / 31,94lbs
    Frame - SCOTT Aspect 29 Alloy 6061 Double Butted, Performance geometry, Integrated Headtube
    Fork - Suntour XCM-29-HLO with Lockout 100mm travel
    Headset - Ritchey Logic OE integ.
    Derailleur (Rear) - Shimano Acera, RD-M390, 27 Speed
    Derailleur (Front) - Shimano Acera, FD-M390 / 31.8mm
    Shifters - Shimano SL-M390-9R R-fire plus
    Brake Levers - Shimano BL-M395
    Brakes - Shimano BR-M395
    Hydr. Disc - 160F/160R mm Rotor
    Crankset - Shimano FC-M391 44x32x22 T
    BB-Set - Shimano BB-UN 26, Cartridge Type
    Handlebar - Aspect OS 660mm, black, 31,8mm, 15mm rise 8
    H'stem - HL TDS-D345A-8
    Pedals - Wellgo C 127 S
    Seatpost - Alloy, 31.6mm
    Seat - Aspect SCT19
    Hub (Front) - Formula CL51
    Hub (Rear) - Shimano FH-RM 35 CL
    Chain - KMC X9
    Cassette - Shimano CS-HG20-9 11-34T
    Spokes - 14 G, stainless, black
    Rims - Alex XC-49 Disc 32H, black
    Tires - Impac Ridgepac 29 x 2.1

Airborne Guardian - $600 + pedals + tax + $75 shipping
    Frame - 6061 Hydroformed Aluminum Hardtail 29"
    Fork - RockShox XC28 TK Mg29 with Preload Adjust, Rebound Adjust and Lock-Out, 80mm
    Headset - Ahead Sealed Cartridge 1 1/8"
    Brake Levers - Tektro Auriga Comp
    Brakes - Tektro Auriga Comp Hydraulic Disc
    Rotors - Tektro 160mm Rotor