mtbr member
    May 2016

Santa Cruz HTLT or a Pivot Switchblade???

Hi Everyone,

Looking to get a longer travel trail/enduro bike for rowdier terrain and occasional bike park duty. I currently have a short travel full suspension XC bike that I plan to keep, so this new addition would be for "bigger" days on the trail.

I'm fairly new to MTB'ing (been doing it for two years now) so even though I had a chance to demo both bikes I can't say I have a favorite in terms of the ride. Unfortunately I wasn't able to demo both on the same terrain, but if I'm being honest, I'm not sure I would really be able to choose a clear favorite unless I demoed both on the same trail back to back. The SB really struck me as an agile bike which I liked a lot. I was able to demo that bike on a trail I ride all the time. The HTLT was ridden on a trail I had never been before which made it tougher to objectively tell how the bike rode.

The builds I'm looking at are the S build for the SC and the X01 build for the SB, essentially the same specs: Eagle GX, Fox Performance fork and shock.

I'm leaning more towards the HTLT at this point for a couple reasons: the build I'm looking at is $900 cheaper and it doesn't use the boost spacing for hubs. I've already knocked the wheels out of true on my current bike and I'd like the flexibility to get a new wheelset if I need to for this new bike down the road.

Curious what other riders thoughts are on these two. Also, for those of you that have been riding for a longer period of time, should I be concerned about the ability to get new wheels down the road for the SB? Any other thoughts on the bikes or specs?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by eman555 View Post
    ... I'm not sure I would really be able to choose a clear favorite unless I demoed both on the same trail back to back. ...
    Also, what you like now might not be what you'd prefer once you gained experience riding bigger faster stuff on an appropriate bike.