Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2004

Salsa Delgado 29'er Race Rims (problematic?)

I had my 4th front tire flat of the season. Never had this problem until I started using these rims. I have a 2.1 Ignitor on it and it seems the tire does not stay seated securely on the rim. One of the flats was full-on tube explosion with a loud pop. I'm pretty sure the tire came of the rim 30 seconds before that happened. This is really starting to concern me and has definitely ruined a few of my rides. Can I be sure it is the rim? Should I try a different front tire?
    Last edited by mtnlyon; 08-17-2009 at 04:44 AM.

Flaccid Member
    Might try a different front rim. Read the Salsa DelGado rim reviews.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    2 positive reviews, 4 negatives. Nothing about my particular problem though.

agu
    mtbr member
    your rim tape securely in place? worth checking...

dru
    mtbr member
    Sep 2006

fine

I've been running them for 3 months now. No problems at all. I built up the 36 spoke, because I'm hard on stuff (means I crash often), and weigh 180 lbs. I've had to true the front twice, and these have been very minor tweaks. My rim tape does seem to shift around a lot, that's my only complaint.

Drew
    occasional cyclist

mtbr member