Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2009

S-Works Renegade vs. Small Block 8 (29's)

I've got Renegades on my Stumpy HT. Would Small block 8's roll any better? Quieter on pavement?

thx

bob

mtbr member
    Yes they would just made the switch. But I am going to go back to a S-works Captian for the rear. As the SB8 just wasn't aggressive enough for me.

mtbr member
    May 2009
    weight difference?

thx

Cars Are Evil
    Also check out the Maxxis Ikon

mtbr member
    May 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by Vermont29er
    Also check out the Maxxis Ikon

Looks pretty aggressive! Looking for a smooth, quiet rolling tire.

thx

bob

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I have no experience but some people on here say that the Ikon has less rolling resistance than the SB8.

mtbr member
    Dec 2010
    I have both. SB8 is a better all-arounder where considerable pavement is involved. I've run the SB8 for years and it is a consistently good all arounder when its not muddy or soft. I'd be wary of further wearing the already short knobs on the Renegade by riding it for any period of time on the pavement. That being said, the Renegade is FAST and probably more versatile off-road as it can better handle loamy trails and will shed mud much better than the tightly spaced knobs of the SB8. I was very impressed with the Renegade (Pro version) and will definitely choose the uber-light S-Works version for a race tire. Note there is very likely some durability differences between Pro and S-Works versions and the S-Works has very thin side-walls and thin rubber throughout the entire casing. Both seem to mount very well as tubeless on non-UST rims (American Classic, DT, etc.).
    Cheers!

mtbr member
    Kinda off topic..I shreaded up two renegades in the past two weeks, sidewalls ripped wide open. Went to the specialized fast trak. 100 grams heavier than the renegade, came in at 670 grams in the package. Anyone have a weight of the renegade?

mtbr member
    Jan 2009