mtbr member
    Jul 2004

Niner Air 9 vs Specialized Stumpjumper Evo HT

Hey guys,

Have an opportunity to get a 2012 Niner Air 9 for a bit less then a 2013 Stumpy Evo HT. The Air 9 is built up with a SID XX (non-WC) fork, X7 components, shitty Elixir 1 brakes and Sun Ringle Black Flag wheels.

The Stumpy is stock and comes with the Fox CTD Evolution fork, X0/X7 components and Magura brakes.

I've ridden the Stumpy and it fit great, haven't ridden the Air 9 but the geometry looks pretty similar. What are your thoughts on which bike I should get?

mtbr member
    how much less? If the geo is close enough, and the price is close enough, I'd go with the one with better components, which sounds like the Stumpy does...

mtbr member
    The Elixir 1s aren't that great. I vote Stumpy Evo HT!
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by rob1035 View Post
    how much less? If the geo is close enough, and the price is close enough, I'd go with the one with better components, which sounds like the Stumpy does...
    Probably $200 less for the Air 9. Agree, the Air 9 has an awesome fork but the rest of the components aren't as great.

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    I had an aluminum Stumpjumper 2 years ago, had an Air 9 before that and now am riding an Air 9 Carbon. Parts have just been transferred bike to bike with weight coming in just under 22 lbs for the Air 9 aluminum and low 22s for the Specialized. The Specialized was a very good handling bike, but, for me, the Air 9 was better - turned better in all situations and was better going downhill. I don't recall either having a climbing advantage. The Niner also rode a bit softer; the Spec was really stiff in back (I think maybe Specialized made the seatstays a little smaller dia last year, so maybe it's not as harsh?).