mtbr member
    Nov 2007

New question here. Newbie: recommend a 29er vs Marin Palisades Trail

Bear with me here, I'm new to this stuff.

So some background on what I'm actually asking and my options. I've never mountain biked before but I want to get into it. I work at a sport chalet so I can get the Marin Palisades Trail for $480 through a prodeal normal retail on it is close to $1000. I could get the Marin Pine Mountain 29er for $800 but I that is out of my price range and more than I want to spend on my first mountain bike anyway.

So my real questions are, how great are 29ers really? Is there a 29er someone could recommend that I could pick up for closer to $500 retail? and do you think it would be better than getting the Palisades? Or is my best bet really the Palisades for the money?

Also I do want a mountain bike, but I want it to be decent on the street as well, I've already thought of having a separate pair of street tires for that purpose. What should I look for in a mountain bike that would contribute well to the street as well?

Thanks for any and all help on this decision.

edit: Oh and I am 6'3" about 210lbs
    Last edited by b-wild; 11-07-2007 at 12:32 PM.

workin' it Administrator
    I think that you would be good on either bike. There are plenty of options for street tires for both the 26" and the 29"/700c wheel sizes.

I would look at the specifications for both bikes and base the decision on which comes with the better components for the price.

The 29er ride is amazing but as you are just getting into mountainbiking anything will be amazing.

You may also want to post a inquiry here too:Beginner's Forum. There are sure to be others that have had the same dilemma.