mtbr member

New to mtbr. Need some help on a purchase.

Hi. I am new to mtbr but not new to mountain biking. I started with motorcycle enduro racing as a younger guy, and then settled on man-powered bikes. I currently own my old KHS Alite 2000. I am looking to upgrade. I do have a budget of $400 to $500, so I will probably buy something 1-2 years old. In talking with others, I think I am convinced that a 29er is the way to go. Please advise over any comments I make. I like trail riding and racing. I live in a flat coastal area, so there are not many hills around. I like technical trails with obstacles. I understand the 29 allows you to ride down stairs for example, easier. But is the 29 as nimble at the 26? I am 5'8" 150 lbs. I think I generally need a Medium size, but I think Large would be acceptable as well. I have found several deals in my price range. My top choice for a new bike is a deal I found on a 2012 Cannondale 29er SL5 (discontinued model). The only negative is that it is a large frame (18.5"). Is that a negative? My second favorite is a 2012 Specialized Hardrock Disc 29 that has been upgraded with nice tires. This is a medium frame (17.5"). My only concern with the 29ers with disc brakes is the weight. The Cannondale for example is 30.5 lbs. The Specilized is a little less. My KHS is 28 lbs and it is old. Please advise on any of this.

two wheel whore
    I think you are in the small/medium range, but you should test ride some bikes. I don't think 29ers are as nimble as 26, but they are designing them to be more nimble these days. I think most bikes in your price range will be in the 30 lb mark, so I wouldn't worry about that too much.

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    Shmoo pretty much covered it.