Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2013

New to MTB and need advice

Newbie here. I just got a Diamondback Overdrive D6 29er a couple of months ago and quickly found out once I got it on the trails that I might need a better equipped MTB. I couldn't climb for anything and kept falling off and then my buddy let me borrow his Stumpjumper while he rode mine. I had a blast. I had no problem climbing and he hated my bike. So, I've been looking at a couple of different bikes and wanted some opinions. The bikes I've looked at so far are: Stumpjumper, Santa Cruz Tallboy LT, Yeti SB95 and for some reason and don't know if it's a viable option, the Cannondale Trigger 1.
    For my first 29er are these too much bike? Should I be learning on something less aggressive? It looks like mainly the type of riding I'm going to be doing is single track with some good climbs and downhills as well.
    I welcome any and all suggestions.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    You can never have too nice of a bike but the downside would be you might spoil yourself if you ever need to downgrade, hah. Those are all good options and they are versatile. A few others you should look at are: niner jet9 rdo or rip9, giant trance x or anthem x. I'd say most of them are in the same category as far as quality and wouldn't base your decision strictly on brand...just comes down to what's most comfortable for you. Make sure you test ride as many as possible as well. You'd be very surprised how 2 similar bikes with the same components can feel completely different.

Quiet Professional

Re: New to MTB and need advice

Also try other bikes than just 29ers. Get which ever feels best to you

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2

1*14*29*2.1 & 1*1*29*2.4
    Nov 2009