mtbr member
    Oct 2014

Cool-blue Rhythm New to the Mtb and 29er world!

Hey everyone,

I just recently picked up a new Diamondback Overrdrive Comp 29er and I am relatively new to the Mtb world. I have ridden before but am looking to make this my hobby, which is why I purchased a 29er. I have some questions about my bike and wanted to get some input from the experts out there! Any feedback would help.

What are going to be some things I will eventually need to upgrade on my set up?
    How do I set up my rock shock turn key spring fork and should I look into getting a new air for instead?
    Is there any airforks that are really good and cheaply priced that I should look into?

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    First off, what size is the bike, what size are you? That really determines what kind of experience you'll have on an entry level bike, as unfortunate as it sounds.

If you find yourself wanting a solo air fork, you'll be money ahead moving up to a completely different trim level of the bike, because it'll come with a better wheelset, better brakes, slightly better drivetrain, and a usable fork (100mm RockShox Recon TK Silver most likely).

For now, just look at the manual for the fork (I'm thinking it's an XC30) and turning up the coil action until it sags as recommended and ride it from there.

mtbr member
    Oct 2014
    My bike is a medium size frame and I am around 5ft9in and the bike does the the xc30 I'm trying to figure the whole fork set up out! Can you throw a 120mm fork on a bike like mine even though I currently have a 100mm fork?

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Yes you can probably throw a 120mm fork on yours. I'd look for a Manitou Tower Pro or X-Fusion Slide. Even in 100mm those will be a big improvement and reasonably priced. Ebay can be a source.

Rogue Exterminator
    Sorry but I had one as my first getting back in to biking bike and IMO that bike is just not worth upgrading.