shining bright

(New to me) Niner RIP 9 build

I've been riding a Sette Razzo for the last two years, and finally pulled the trigger on a full squish setup. Found this RIP 9 frame on ebay, and also got a Chris King headset from the same seller.

I'll be using my Reba SL fork for the time being, set at 100mm. It was set at 80 on the razzo, and I have been told I really need 120 or better for this frame. I could have taken the reba out to 120, but it will be really flimsy at that point. When I changed the travel on the fork I went to 100 for now. We'll see how it goes.

Mostly everything from the razzo came to this frame, which includes:

Avid Elixr CR brakes
    Mavic 719 rims (setup ghetto tubeless with home made sealant and gorilla tape) running Geax Sagauro tires
    X9 Rear Derailleur
    Deore XT front Derailleur (provided by the frame seller)
    X7 shifters
    Truvativ Stylo crank (3 x 9 at the moment) but considering moving to either a two or maybe even a one chain ring setup.
    Saddle (WTB Laser)
    Bars, Stem, and grips are Sette.

One of the main reasons I bought the razzo two years ago was because of the really good components. I knew I'd be able to do exactly what I'm doing now, someday

The old seat post was 27.2 dia, so I ordered a new Thomson Elite setback post from tree fort, along with a Chris King bottom bracket. I really wanted the bottom bracket in red to match the red headset, but they were backordered. I settled for navy blue instead.

The bottom bracket would have come form the Sette too, but I learned a valuable lesson. Channel lock pliers will effectively cave in the outer bearing shell on an external bearing bottom bracket...All because I was in a hurry and didn't want to drive to the LBS to get the right tool for the job lol. Oh well, I'm sure the Chris King unit will be better, and I have gotten the right tool for the job now to install it.