mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Need help picking out a hard tail bike for around $600!!!

I am a noob to biking and could use some help picking out a decent mountain bike. I want a 29er hardtail and id like to find one for around $600 maybe a little more if yall think its worth it.

Any help would be much appreciated!!

slow
    Keep an eye on your local craigslist. I picked up a 2008 FELT Nine comp with upgrades for $500 from a guy who was getting a new bike.

mtbr member
    I purchased a Trek Marlin 29er last February and could not be happier. I mostly ride XC and use the bike to commute to work, and have had a great time with this bike. It cost about $650 from my LBS, and was a great step up from the Wahoo (I bought my wife one as her first MTB, same frame but cheaper components, for around $550.) But if you're going to customize parts, I'd buy the Wahoo.

Downsides of the Marlin are:
    -weight (stock components are a bit heavy for XC)
    -Brakes are noisy
    -pedals are not the best

I put on CrankBros candy pedals, and will slowly be customizing brakes, tires, fork, etc. But overall, bang/buck, I couldn't be happier with this bike. Rides great to and from work, and when I decide to go all weekend warrior, it holds up to the abuse.

Just my humble opinion though... Good Luck, and welcome to your new obsession!!

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    Might want to check out the Airborne Guardian. Great bike for the price. Fits in your budget too.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    Yeah ill check those out! Thanks for the help

mtbr member
    Any luck with the search. I've noticed some local bike shops are having good deals on 2012 29er bikes.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    I bought a 2013 Novara Ponderosa from REI a few weeks ago for $800. Great setup for the $$$. Not sure if the 20% off is still going on though.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    Yeah I'm thinking I'll go with the Guardian now but I haven't decided yet

mtbr member
    Apr 2013